Sketches and Fanart

As part of one of my classes, I’ve begun sketching just about on a weekly basis. I figure the best venue for my not-quite-finalized pre-work is here, so let’s put some sketches up!

NDobkin_CTAN450bJournal4
This one will truly come into its own when in color. The intent is to have the majority of the light emit from the stain-glass window at right, and to study and attempt to replicate the effect and texture of such a light.

NDobkin_CTAN450bJournal5
This is a sketch for a friend’s video game project, which will involve magicians battling and play out similarly to a card game. This image depicts a fictional character, Lycikell the Prodigy, preparing a magical seal by lantern light. In color, I believe the feel of the magical presence will be much emphasized.

Finally, I had the good fortune this week to visit Indiecade in Culver City. I regret nothing but not staying for the Night Games, was able to try a mediocre demo for the spectacular technology that is Oculus Rift, and meet Tulio Adriano, the creator of notorious 2010 Sega Genesis game Pier Solar.

I was sufficiently inspired to try my hand at some Pier Solar fanart, seeing as there’s little around, as far as google is concerned. I spent a good few hours – still not really satisfied, but I figure I’ll wait to play the game and get some actual context on the events and characters therein to draw more (the demo I played followed the character Houston as he realized he’d have to venture into dangerous caves to find herbs that could postpone his father’s passing – I took a shot in the dark as to what those herbs would look like:)

HoustonArt_PierSolar_NDobkin

All these sketches will be added to their respective site pages soon! Hope you enjoy the work – and speaking of work, I need to get back to it. More art will follow!

Until then,
Nick

Leave a Reply

